A charm against wanton destruction

IMG_0171 (2)

I cannot stop you tearing up the land;
Turn back the clock or stay your heedless hand;
No word of mine can still your crushing wheels;
My flesh and bone no match for your cold steel.

But what I can, I’ll do. And so I lay
This charm upon you and your deeds this day.

From sullied soil, let briar and bramble spring –
Let thistle burn, thorn scratch and nettle sting;
And when the summer sun warms earth and sky,
Come, adders, sharp of fang and cold of eye.

In every vehicle that you blithely ride
Let spiders big as saucers now reside;
And in the cabin where you take your rest
Bid hordes of wicked hornets build their nest.

Then let it rain and churn the clay to mire
To grab and grip and clog each helpless tyre;
And when the cries of rook-bands fill the air
May you hear mocking laughter everywhere.

Now let this doom hang heavy round your necks;
A right reward for him who rips and wrecks
Without regard or care. My rhyme is done.
But not the charm. Its work has just begun.

2 thoughts on “A charm against wanton destruction

  1. Thank you, Charles; nothing like a little innocent hexing on a sunny Friday. I wrote something like it years ago to ward off trick-or-treaters on Hallowe’en and that’s still one of my favourite pieces; this was just as much fun to do. I’ll let you know if it works, but my hopes aren’t high… 🙂 Enjoy your weekend, my friend, and stay safe. N.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.