Work song

Got to go to work now
Hammer swinging, sparks flying
Build it from the ground up
All the labour I’m supplying.
Raising steel and pouring concrete
Nail gun and power drill
Sawing timber, laying tile
Always moving. Can’t stand still.
Running in the service lines
Power, gas and water flowing
Diesel engines roar and rumble
Weather’s coming. Keep on going.
All the plans are in my head
All the tools are in my hand.
Don’t what I’m building yet
On this empty piece of land.
Feel the heat. My body’s tired.
Must complete what I’ve begun.
Soon be watertight and wired.
Come and see it when it’s done.

2 thoughts on “Work song

Leave a Reply

