From the train

The train bursts from the city, racing down
Towards the warm coast. Every mile that flies
By, blurred in grimy glass, helps exorcise
The weary ghosts that stalk me in that town:
Of lives I might have lived; what could have been
Were I a different man, or had not seen

The blood and filth that stain the golden crown.
Was it my curse or cure to realise
My own way ran through woods, beneath wide skies
In open fields, by winding lanes? I’ve thrown
That switch now, taken my own track: I’ll stay
True to it, follow it to come what may.

7 thoughts on “From the train

  1. Not only is this an excellent poem, but it sings with hope and a statement of true self. You are a poet, and, to me at least, that means something. You are also a craftsman. Add that to the fact that you are a poet, and the world becomes hope and true self as a great eagle flies over the still waters of lake reflecting trees and sky.

Leave a Reply

