Work jag

Days pass. I am forgetting all I knew
About myself. What certainties Iā€™d gained,
Such habits that had once seemed so ingrained,
Are lost and sanded out.
                                                            So much to do,
So many varied parts a man must play;
His gaze is ever outward.
                                                            Till one day
He looks within and sees the life that grew
And blossomed in him overthrown, disdained
As fanciful and foolish. All is grey
And blurred. And though I have retained
A face I faintly recognise, my true
Self seems to shrug, and slowly walk away.

14 thoughts on “Work jag

  1. Oh I love this Nick! And those last two lines wrap it up perfectly.. Im sure our true selves will always reappear; they just need time and peace to help them along.

    Btw, Ive writren my very first sonnet! Get the bunting ready! Its the latest poem on my blog if you want to take a look. I was inspired by the subject of a writing task at my weekly writing group. šŸ˜Š x

  2. Thanks so much for your encouraging comment on my blog Nick; I enjoyed it enough to have another go I think!

    I think my other half would be able to empathise with you re corporate blather! He goes to the bottom of the garden and digs for a while to regain balance and to “look” for himself! X

    • Already looking forward to the next one…but beware, they can become habit-forming šŸ™‚
      On Sunday, we took ourselves up to the Royal Festival Hall, where they had a reading of all 154 Shakespeare sonnets (in two halves, so we heard Sonnets 1-77!) Fantastic readers including Simon Russell Beale, Oliver Ford Davis, Victoria Hamilton and Paterson Joseph, and wonderful to hear the sonnets read by people who really know what they’re doing. If I could hear just one of mine read aloud by Juliet Stephenson, I could die happy!

      • Haha! It would be good to die happy! Id love to hear her read your sonnets too! Wow, what an experience for you to hear all those. Wonderful. That’s a awful lot of sonnets!! You said habit forming- well Ive only written one and I have another swirling round my crazy head already! I have an addictive personality so I think I may have found a new addiction, but at least its a good one, not harmful like my main one. Is/was!! šŸ˜Š.

        I have to thank our writing group tutor for giving me the much needed but very gentle kick up the bum to take some poetic risks. And Ive just bought his book of 63. Sonnets called Some Things Matter. So Im well on my way to total addiction I think! I may have to host a sonnet party! I wonder how many would come!! šŸ˜„šŸ˜„ x

    • Thank you, John. By the end of last week, I actually reached the point where I had to go out into the garden and abandon myself to the giggles, after ploughing through (literally) tens of thousands of words, almost all of them meaningless! I’ve been on a mission to exterminate corporate blather wherever I find it for the last 20 years, but I don’t seem to be succeeding! N.

  3. Being retired I don’t get captured so much by work jags as I used to, Nick, but for decades they were a regular feature of life. Therefore I identify with this poem.
    And though I have retained
    A face I faintly recognise, my true
    Self seems to shrug, and slowly walk away.
    How do we get to the point where we have two selves? I think there is truth in these lines that make the poem and sing deeply to who we really are, but the meaning is puzzling isn’t it? I mean, I am finding retirement difficult. I am not as much caught in a work jag as I used to be. Still, I am still searching for the self that shrugged and walked away some time ago, a self in sync, rather than out of sync, with rhythms that have nothing to do with clocks.
    This is a really meaningful effort Nick.

Leave a Reply

