The road taken

If I’d only gone straight on after Tanyard Green
I’d have made it home much sooner
But I never would have seen

That John Deere and silage trailer running flat-out on the road
To the hungry forage harvester for one more load.

If I’d turned to the left when I chose to go right
I’d have dodged that one-in-seven
But I would have missed the sight

Of a big New Holland crawling with the throttle thrown wide
As it hauled a power harrow up a steep hillside.

If I’d thought to take the shortcut, not the long way round,
I’d have saved myself some miles
But instead I caught the sound

Of three magpies’ loud alarums in an oak, while down below
The dog-fox paused, then vanished in the deep hedgerow.

Yes, it’s easy to regret the many roads I never took –
All those straighter, smoother highways –
But I must not overlook

All the unexpected magic that’s waylaid me on this track;
I’ll forsake the map and compass, ride my road – and not look back.

4 thoughts on “The road taken

  1. Hi Nick!

    As opposed to Robert Frost’s not taken road! A poem that really kick started me into poetry 🙂

    This is so weird!! I love your poem, it has to be a favourite of mine! But it is so similar in its theme to the poem I am posting next on WP! The coincidence (synchronicity?) made me shiver! Lookout for it in a few days time! If you want to of course. id hate to think I was ordering you around in any way!! Lol

    Xx

Leave a Reply

