One day at a time

Didn’t fix an engine
Didn’t break the ground
Didn’t sign on the dotted line
To make a million pounds.

Didn’t cut a record
Didn’t fly a plane
Didn’t cook, write a classic book
Or operate on brains.

Didn’t tend a garden
Didn’t build a wall
Didn’t do what I wanted to
Or anything much at all.

Didn’t drive cross-country
Didn’t serve cold beer
Can’t quite say what I did today
Or what I’m doing here.

Didn’t crack my spirit.
Didn’t break my heart.
Not much to show for the day, I know,
But I made it. That’s a start.

5 thoughts on “One day at a time

  1. This is a moving poem Nick, and its lovely to “see” you again.

    Sometimes just making it is more than enough for one day. Whatever it is we are going through, baby steps to recovery are the most healthy ones; even a step or two back has to be enough sometimes; we learn that as we go along. Xx

    • Hi Christine – it’s good to BE back, especially when I find you waiting here for me! This is the first thing (other than lots of hellacious work stuff) I’ve written in months, and ‘getting back out there’ again is a lot harder than I thought it would be. Anyway, thank you for the encouragement, as always. I have SO much catching-up to do with people’s work, it’s not even funny. I’ll be over to look at your latest soon: I bet it’s fantastic. N.xx

Leave a Reply

