Sonnet Cycle: The Field – Part 4

building site

 

AUTUMN

The hips and haws hang heavy on the thorn;
Dew-silvered cobwebs glitter in the grass
Along my headlands. Fox and badger pass
Like footpads, hastened by a scarlet dawn.
My fleeting furlough ends: a settled spell
Marks me for autumn sowing, and I feel
The tractor’s weight, the thrust of polished steel
From landside, tine and drill I know so well.
Then strangers come, survey with greedy eyes
My empty acres. It’s not whispering wheat
They see: a tightly-packed and tidy street
Of huge five-bedroomed houses is their prize.
They’ll break my ground their way; and in a year
There’ll be no sign that I was ever here.

6 thoughts on “Sonnet Cycle: The Field – Part 4

    • Didn’t leave much room for suspense, did I really?! I’m glad I managed to maintain the illusion as long as I did though; I really wanted to create that sense of timelessness, then interrupt it suddenly at the end. And it was only after I’d finished it that I realised the crows, who’d appeared in the first three sonnets, had disappeared from the fourth, which seems just right. Bigger forces at work, perhaps. N.

Leave a Reply

