Sold

 

The car drives off; and in my hand a heap
Of well-creased tens and twenties, counted out.
A handshake and the trade was made.
                                                 So light
And yet it always weighed my spirit down;
                                                 So swift
And yet it could not match my shifting moods;
                                                 So strong
And yet it had no hold upon my heart.
                                                 So long,
Then, to a dream – or so I thought it was:
No longing or regret assail my soul;
No second thoughts, no doubts disturb my mind.
And if I grieve
It is not for the thing itself
But at my own indifference.
And quickly as it comes
The small, slight sorrow slips from me
And I am free.

 

I’ve bid au revoir to the Trek Madone. Didn’t ride it much, miss it not at all. A salutary lesson in the transience of possessions. But I’m still pleased to say it’s gone to an excellent new home. N.

7 thoughts on “Sold

  1. Aw I feel for you! It’s still a bit of a wrench no matter what! 🙂

    But we do become rather attached to possessions don’t we, and for me it’s wanting things too, only to realise when I have them they weren’t wanted that much at all. But then I am all set to want the next thing! 🙂 lol

    Christine xx

    • They do say the optimum number of bikes is ‘as many as you’ve got now, plus one.’ Parting with this bike is certainly the end of an era: I never thought there’d come a time when I didn’t want one like it any more. But there we are. More of a wrench, actually, is the continuing unhappy saga of Lance Armstrong and the US Postal Servcie team, who first inspired me to get into road cycling in a big way. I’m sure that my sense of betrayal and disillusionment is a major factor in how I was able to sell this bike without a qualm: the Trek bike brand has been so closely aligned with Armstrong for so long, it’s been tainted now, and a lot of my joy in the machine has gone the way of Armstrong’s reputation. That, I think, is the saddest part of all: I’ll write about it some time, I’m sure, but I’m not ready to just yet. N.xx

      • I can totally understand this Nick, even though I am not a cyclist, unless you call owning a second hand trike at the age of 6 being a cyclist. 🙂

        It’s so very sad the way this has now all come out as it were. It certainly shakes us up a bit. as has the whole Jimmy Savile thing, though thats changing the subject somewhat and I could see that coming much more than the Armstrong affair.

        Anyway it’s good you have been able to close the door on that particular bike; maybe you will eventually be able to do the same with Lance Armstrong xx

      • I’ve just ordered from Amazon ‘The Secret Race’, Tyler Hamilton’s confessional account of life at US Postal in the Armstrong ‘glory years’ (and I now use that term advisedly) when I first started following the team, all starry-eyed and caught up in Lance’s fairytale comeback. I’m sure it will be sobering, if not outright depressing, reading, but it’s largely because no one wanted to believe Armstrong was a drugs cheat that he was allowed to get away with so much for so long. I never really liked Armstrong as a person, but I could admire him as an athlete: his winning ride to Sestriere in the Italian Alps in 1999 was one of the greatest things I’d ever seen in sport. The fact that he blew away so many confessed and convicted dopers should have made us ask some more searching questions, I guess. The worst of it is, he once made a TV for Nike, in which he asked the rhetorical question: “People want to know what I’m on. What am I on? I’m on my bike, busting my a$$ six, seven hours a day. That’s what I’m on.” At the time it was inspirational. Now it just sounds like he was laughing at us. N.xx

Leave a Reply

