A good way to go

 

This is my kind of road:

“No entry
Except for agricultural vehicles
And bicycles.”

A gentle road, benevolent,
With its priorities exactly right –
A road on a human scale,

Where I might meet
Madame on her old Motobecane
With baguettes in her basket;
A tourist couple, side-by-side
Puffing, sweating on their shiny his-’n’-hers,
Or a quartet of ancient Anquetils,
Paunchy on immaculate Looks and Lapierres,
Trusting in cash and carbon-fibre
As specifics against the years.

A John Deere hauling big round bales;
A rusty Renault puttering home
With a couple of hundredweight of hay;
Dusty Axions, hot-running, gunning it at 30 k,
Ten-tonne loads of wheat and barley bucketing behind,
Or a Lexion, filling the lane from verge to verge,
All flashing lights and turbofans, a factory on wheels.

A thoroughfare of real life,
The traffic of an older, saner time
Where nothing’s moving faster
Than a decent horse can run,
And everyone is close to home.
A road that truly gets me
Where I want to go.

 

Another piece from Brittany. The fact that it’s in free verse (almost the first I’ve written all year) is a good clue that I was finally starting to relax by this stage of our holiday! N.

5 thoughts on “A good way to go

  1. You paint a fabulous picture here Nick, I love it! I almost feel I’mthere 🙂

    Your love of the countryside and its life shines through: I can almost smell the manure! 🙂

    Since becoming less mobile, every time I go out. say to a hospital appointment and therefore into town I realise how much I just don’t want to be part of it all. Just give me my back garden, the birds twittering, my dog and my cats. And maybe throw a baguette in there too!! 🙂

    Christine xx

  2. Hi Nick
    what a pretty picture of a road in Brittany, ( I guess that is Bretagne in British 🙂 ) a road to be used only by farmers vehicles and bicycles, that can still make a very busy road! I hope you had a great holiday.
    xx

Leave a Reply

