Time thief

This is a moment I could steal:
The task that’s kept me caged in here
Complete; the next not yet begun.
The rain is gone; a pale sun
Returns, the blue-washed sky gleams clear
And branches wave in mute appeal.

No contract to compel me, no
Cruel clock to punch, no overseer
Or deadline to detain me. Still
I hesitate; the guilty thrill
Of truancy upon me – fear
Without foundation. I can go

And damn the consequences: I
Am no man’s man, at large, unbound.
This unwatched hour is mine to take:
My criminal impulses wake
And furtively, without a sound,
I’ll snatch this jewelled time, and fly.

4 thoughts on “Time thief

  1. Hi Nick

    great rhyme scheme and poem!
    This unwatched hour is mine to take, I love that line!

    The fourth line of the first stanza has a different meter (7 syllables instead of 8) was that intended?

    I shall be in your country in 2 days, looking forward! 🙂

    Ina
    xx

    • It’s more in how it reads, I guess, with four-beat rhythm rather than individual syllables. ‘Pale’ is a bit like ‘steal’ in that it’s a one-syllable word that one tends to read as thoug it has two – ‘stee-yull’, ‘pay-yull’. But I take the point! N.xx

  2. Nick, ah, I’m envious.

    ….I
    Am no man’s man, at large, unbound.
    This unwatched hour is mine to take:
    My criminal impulses wake
    And furtively, without a sound,
    I’ll snatch this jewelled time, and fly.

    Right now I am so pressed with so many deadlines that I would like to find a moment to steal, no less an hour. I hardly have time for wordpress, reading, and doing a handful of comments. I would love to talk Ethel into taking a trip into the Colorado mountains, maybe to Durango, and spending a whole day along a mountain stream with the dogs.
    But, that is not meant to be. Next week I am off to Minneapolis, Minnesota and will be stuck in a hotel all week. Ugh. But you know the life.
    The steal, pale meter is always an interesting dilemma, isn’t it? I always struggle with that and seem to never be consistent. I love that Ina brought that up. Her mastery of meter and rhyme is really increasing. I believe you have been an influence on that, and that’s good. She has real talent.
    This is a really enjoyable poem, especially since it awakens dreams of getting away, being truant, and living life instead of life living you.

    • My heart goes out to you Tom: I have another week as a Human Doing rather than a Human Being ahead of me, but at least I’m (mostly) at home. A week in a hotel (even for a holiday) would be a refined form of Hell for me, Ironic, really, since I seem to spend most of my working life writing about them these days. But you do what you gotta do, I guess. Hope you find an unwatched hour somewhere in the midst of it all. N.

Leave a Reply

