Life-drawing class

Work-sick, world-shy and heart-weary, I went
To ask the woods if they remembered me.
Would I still find words pinned to every tree
Like poor Orlando’s poems? I had meant
To come there sooner, spend more time among
Them, walk their well-known paths and hunt for rhymes
Like birds’ nests. Of our tiny daily crimes
These are the worst: to leave our songs unsung,
And sights laid on for us unseen. The drive
To Do leaves us so little time to Be.
We’ve endless choice: let’s use it, and be free –
Make livings matter less than being alive.
Come with me, seek the solace of the wood:
Look on its works, and see that they are good.

 

Thanks, Tom. N.

7 thoughts on “Life-drawing class

  1. Hi Nick
    I like the feel I get from this poem, now trying to figure out how the solace of the woods will remain if we join you there 🙂 Just kidding. Plenty of space! x

  2. A sonnet, Nick! Just what I needed this morning. A sonnet! What is glorious about the sonnet is that it says what I wish I would do:
    …The drive
    To Do leaves us so little time to Be.
    There are so many gems in here. Another one:
    …I had meant
    To come there sooner, spend more time among
    Them, walk their well-known paths and hunt for rhymes
    Like birds’ nests….
    And:
    ….Of our tiny daily crimes
    These are the worst: to leave our songs unsung,
    We’ve endless choice: let’s use it, and be free –
    Make livings matter less than being alive.
    If I could I would come with you this morning, but it’s a rather long walk, I’m getting old, and I am too heavy to float while walking. I would love to go to the Colorado mountains and spend some time in the woods there this morning too, but it’s off to Washington DC tomorrow and bureaucratic and politician offices while I do my small part to keep them from totally destroying education in the United States. My work is probably going to be as successful as Sisyphus was putting his stone in place for good, but I am still trying.
    Can you believe the school district where my daughter works is insisting that my daughter no longer teach Shakespeare? It takes away from what they are calling the common core. She is so upset and enraged she wants to know why she became a teacher. Crazy. Of course, the Director of Curriculum told her that she’d read no books in high school, so she did not see why it was so important that high school students read books. Oh well.
    I love this sonnet. Of course I would. You are the sonneteer.

Leave a Reply

