Country music

Everything I had to know
I learned from country music:

‘bout Love and Life, man-and-wife.
Foolish hearts, brand-new starts;
Bitter fights, lonely nights,
Smoke-filled bars, steel guitars;
Untamed broncs, honky-tonks,
Pickup trucks, last few bucks;
Missing you, dreams come true,
Endless highways, long hot dry days,
Tall tequilas, eighteen-wheelers,
Hot falling tears, ice-cold beers;
Cheatin’, lyin’, laughin’, cryin’,
Wantin’, choosin’ winnin’, losin’.
Long slow dances, lost romances,
Hit the track, want you back,
Please-don’t-go, the rodeo,
Hanging tough, I’ve-had-enough
Harsh words spoken, promise broken,
Slamming doors, forever yours.
Bridges burned, lessons learned.

Seemed everyone I heard was giving
Three –minute manuals for living.
And the only thing that I done wrong
Was thinking life was like a song.

 

This is a reworking of a piece I originally posted a year or so ago. Still makes me smile. Have a great weekend, everybody. N.

7 thoughts on “Country music

  1. Hi Nick

    lol this is great, and exactly ‘our’ culture… All said in (English) songs! Rhyming lyrics taught us life 🙂 But as you say in the last line, maybe life is not like a song?
    3 minute manuals for living 🙂

    Have a wonderful weekend too 🙂
    Ina
    xx

  2. This is fabulous Nick (You are so clever – damn you!!- only joking (shit!! – I have started digging a hole! Not joking that you are clever; joking when saying “damn you”) Think you knew that though.

    Why can’t I give you straight forward comments for goodness sake??!!! Perhaps I sense you may just be as crazy as me!? :):)

    This brought lots of nostalgia into play 🙂

    Christine xx

  3. Oh I DO love this one!! It’s one everybody could write–and do, from the plethora of country stars album sales! However, I like your format much better–maybe I’ll give it a whirl (though I’ve no square dance skirt to wear). You have an excellent weekend too–God bless you.

  4. I agree Nick. Having grown up in Western Colorado you were forced to like country music or else. My Mom and Dad were avid square dancers, and my Dad called square dances, so we were always going to dances where country music was king even though I could not dance worth a darned whether it was a square dance or whatever the country music dance craze was at the moment. When folk music came along I quickly embraced that and left country music behind, but I’ll admit that this poem made me smile. I’m sure most of my Western Colorado relatives would agree with your sentiments even though I’m equally sure that none of them would read a poem on purpose. This is simply a bit of fun.

    • Your comment made me smile, Tom – my impression is that country music is more or less a legal requirement west of the Mississippi. Folk music is (quite wrongly) still largely derided over here; just another part of our heritage we seem content to sacrifice on the altar of ‘popular culture’. N.

Leave a Reply

