Off the grid

It’s been too long. I must go wandering
Again, be free of this, live off the grid
A while, and work the way the old ones did:
Sans phone, sans internet, sans everything.
With dog at heel I’ll stalk the woods and hills
In solitary communion with the land
And put my words on paper, pen in hand –
Sans Microsoft, sans formatting, sans frills.
And so I disappear, but do not doubt
That I’ll return – this is my life, my trade
As I have said – and bring new poems made
By means to trust when all the lights go out.
No broadband reaches where I’m heading to
Which lets me reconnect with what is true.

 

Last post till the weekend, folks, as we’re making a dawn run to deepest (and, if things run true to form, dampest) west Wales tomorrow for a few days’ R&R chez mother-in-law. As always, my heartfelt thanks to my treasured band of fellow WordPress poets for your support and encouragement: look forward to catching up with you all very soon. N.

[The sharp-eyed among you will notice that, although this is (yet another) sonnet, I’ve finally departed from my favourite Shakespearean variant. I don’t know whether this one has an official name – as far as I knew I was making it up – but I enjoyed playing with a new rhyme scheme (ABBA CDDC EFFE GG instead of the usual ABAB CDCD EFEF GG). And of course, there’s more than a slight nod to Will in lines 4 and 8. Credit where it’s due, I always say. N.]

16 thoughts on “Off the grid

    • I’ll be reading real, printed words, not a screen, for a few days. How lovely that will be. But I shall be ready and looking forward to reading you on the internet again when I get back! N.xx

  1. Well thank you, that is nice of you 🙂 So they have no internet in Wales? 🙂
    You are so lucky to go reading books.( I haven’t read anything on paper in half a week. I can’t read much at the moment, only big screen laptop. ctrl + is a good option! Since a few days, not one, but both my eyes are seeing through clouds and lightning but it is nothing serious I am told! lol. Leaking retina’s. WTF! )

    have fun there! 🙂

    • Thank you – I’m at the point where I really think I can’t afford to go, which means it’s exactly the right moment TO go! We’ve had a fairly intense three months since we were last away, at New Year, and we’re all in need of a little peace and quiet. Two things they have in abundance down in west Wales! N.x

Leave a Reply

