Riddle III

I lie in wait, a cold gleam in my eye,
In shady spots, on bends, so hard to see
Till it’s too late. My time is slipping by:
For though long Ages have belonged to me
In which I levelled mountains, shattered stone
I cannot last forever. Comes the day
When my old foe will rise; with warmth alone
Melt my defences, make me run away.
And should my playful tug at sole or wheel
Raise bruises, break your bones, I’ll make amends:
The injuries I cause I help to heal;
Just hold me close and soon we shall be friends.
And when you feel the world just doesn’t care,
You need not drink alone; for I’ll be there.

 

Couldn’t resist it. This one should be a bit easier…stay safe out there, folks.

12 thoughts on “Riddle III

    • The Anglo-Saxons were far more spohisticated than they’re given credit for a lot of the time. There have been some massive hoards of treasure uncovered in England in recent years that prove just how talented and creative people were in the so-called ‘Dark Ages’. Since I live in what was their southern kingdom, I like to think I’m just carrying on their good work! Glad you liked the riddles.

  1. The photograph we used from Kevin on fourwindowspress last would go well with this riddle, but would give it all away. I am still marveling at how you can write a riddle placed in a sonnet. Sonneteers are as rare as the subject of this poem is beneath a desert sun in July and August. Riddlers are as rare as the Sphinx sitting on a front lawn in England. I liked the challenge of the last riddle, but this one was just as delightful–if a lot easier to solve.

    • I’d be honoured to have a poem illustrated with one of Kevin’s beautiful images. And I think I’d already given quite a lot of it away – people certainly seem to have found this one easier!

      Sonneteers are rare creatures these days, it’s true, but I think that’s what’s so wonderful about this whole blog thing – and why I was so delighted to find fourwindowspress: it shows me that I’m not entirely alone. The company of perceptive, supportive and generous people like you and Ethel, and my other readers, makes it all worthwhile. N.

Leave a Reply

