Pantoum: Sighthound

Sighthound

No time to hide. Don’t try to run;
I’ve seen you, and my eye is death.
Say goodbye to earth and sun.
Draw your final, futile breath.

I’ve seen you, and my eye is death,
Seconds now remain to you.
Draw your final, futile breath
I’ll take you as I’m bred to do.

Seconds now remain to you;
I have all the time I need.
I’ll take you as I’m bred to do,
I hunt by sight, kill by speed.

I have all the time I need;
Say goodbye to earth and sun.
I hunt by sight, kill by speed.
No time to hide. Don’t try to run.

 

 

10 thoughts on “Pantoum: Sighthound

    • I’d love to say something heroic like ‘wolves’ or even ‘deer’, but sadly, the Boy generally devotes all his wondrous strength and speed to hunting squirrels…and has never caught one yet 🙂 He has iced a couple of rabbits, although largely by accident, I think – and he’d dearly love to be allowed to chase the neighbourhood cats!

  1. Hi Nick,
    Oh what a brave whippet 🙂 I do have my doubts about his hunting skills now I read what you said, but the poem is lovely! 🙂 And so is the dog!

    I like the repetition, the second line of the first becoming the first in the next stanza etc. It emphazises the frozen moment I think. An excellent pantoum!

    • He is a noble beast, isn’t he? A hopeless hunter (fortunately) but a wonderful family pet 🙂 The pantoum is lots of fun to write; I like the slightly hypnotic quality of the repeating lines – in this one, I wanted to get the feeling of a bell tolling for the poor doomed rabbit/squirrel (even though I knew it would get away!) x

    • Hi Christine

      He’s a handsome devil, isn’t he? The kind of boy I hope our daughter never brings home to meet us…the ears are quite a feature: not exactly the delicate ‘rose petals’ laid down the breed standard; more like something off an exotic South American bat previously unknown to science. As David rightly observes in his comment, this poem is more wishful thinking than accurate depiction of the hound himself. Which suits us just fine! Thanks for your lovely response, as always.

Leave a Reply

