Friday knight nonsense

Friday knight

I wish that I could be a noble knight
And roam the kingdom wide on errantry;
But there are now no dragons left to fight
Or damsels in distress that I can see.
Yet I can still assume a gallant manner
Though chivalry be dead: I ride alone,
A freelance, fighting under no man’s banner
But that I choose; my destiny’s my own.
What need have I of any sword? I wield
The pen – a weapon mightier indeed.
I have this screen before me as my shield;
My lady’s favour all the spur I need
To accept the challenge of my daily quest,
And fight on, dauntless, to my nightly rest.

7 thoughts on “Friday knight nonsense

    • Thank you John – the screen is an obvious anachronism, but it just struck me that I use it to hide behind; it provides a shield between me and the outside world. And I’m thankful every day for my fair lady!

Leave a Reply

