Co-dependency

Riding for a fall

Months, years go by
Without a sign
A whisper
Or a look between us.

Then you appear
Out of nowhere;
Same as you ever were,
Still knowing just how
To flip me inside-out:

Never when
I’m enjoying my eight hours
Content with tea
And pulling my own notes
Warm from the hole-in-the-wall,

Oh no:

You wait till
I’m clawing at heaven
Biting down on every thought
Wearing each day like a shirt of mail
And mapping my ceiling in the dark.

Then you
You burst back in
Dressed up as The Answer,
All soothing words and familiar touch.

But I’m still me
And you’re still you.
And, as usual, I’m left wondering
Which one of us can’t quit the other.

9 thoughts on “Co-dependency

  1. This deserves to be publised, without a doubt. Extremely impressive and likely to speak first person to many.

    Your writing is always a joy to read. Sorry I’ve been so quiet – long boring and some not so boring excuses but it is good to drop by.

Leave a Reply

